Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Derek Alota

State Farm® Insurance Agent

Derek Alota

4.8 out of 5 (26 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Profile photo of Thomas Banks

Thomas Banks

August 26, 2022

5  out of  5
"I have been with Derek for about 6 or 7 years now after having a bad experience with progressive. I'll be honest I've had my disagreements/disputes with State Farm Claims. Derek's office has been a great help in navigating some issues. Someone that I enjoy talking to is Karen. She is great at explaining things when I get confused with Insurance lingo. She has also helped when adding new vehicles, letting me now where I can save money!"
Profile photo of Ingrid Alonso

Ingrid Alonso

July 28, 2022

5  out of  5
"This review is long overdue. Derek has been my insurance agent for over a decade. He and his staff are amazing! When I need help and call his office, not only do we catch up on family, kids, jobs, etc., but he and his team go above and beyond for me and my parents (who are also his clients). Karen is also the best! She responds to me super quickly and has been to my rescue so many times (after accidents and car/address/policy changes). Recently, my son's catalytic converter was stolen. I called the office to cancel the policy and they advised that it was covered! I had no idea! My son was allowed a rental and he received a check for the whole value of his car! I am super greatful for Derek and his team and 1000% recommend them for all insurance needs."
Profile photo of Teddi W.

Teddi W.

July 22, 2022

5  out of  5
"I'm always pleased with the help I receive when calling Derek's office. Karen is very patient, organized, and knowledgeable- she helped set me up with a great car insurance policy that suits my personal needs. Their office always helps me get the best rate possible and consistently reminds me to send in external forms (e.g. transcripts) for further improved rates."
Profile photo of Roland Kel

Roland Kel

May 23, 2022

5  out of  5
"Derek has been great to us for many years now. I feel like we are almost like family now. Too bad we cannot take him with us to Arizona with us but he was able to find us an agent who also seems promising!"
Profile photo of Christian Gutierrez

Christian Gutierrez

March 31, 2022

5  out of  5
"Mr. Alota has always served me with the utmost respect and attention that has reassured my trust and dependency in State Farm Insurance. In 2015 I was involved in a horrific freeway accident that left my vehicle totaled. Derek dropped everything to ensure I was safe, and my car was taken to a well respected auto body shop. I highly recommend State Farm Agent Derek Alota to anyone who wants to be taken care of like a good neighbor. He is always there for me, day and night."
Profile photo of Cynthia Martinez

Cynthia Martinez

March 15, 2022

5  out of  5
"They always help me with everything I need , they are very nice and professionals !!!"
Profile photo of Andrew Chen

Andrew Chen

January 6, 2022

5  out of  5
"Derek has been handling my home and auto loans for years and has always been a consummate professional. Whenever I have any questions or issues, he is always available to help guide me through the process. I would highly recommend him as anyone's insurance agent!"
Profile photo of Carmen Fuentes

Carmen Fuentes

October 5, 2021

5  out of  5
"I am extremely happy with Derek’s service. He is very professional and responds quickly. He looks out for my best benefit. I recommend State Farm. To all who need a great insurance. Derek allota State Farm"
Profile photo of Tama Redmond

Tama Redmond

September 8, 2021

5  out of  5
"Derek is a wonderful insurance agent. Very good value, claims are taken care of quickly. Never had a complaint, prices are also great! I'll never change insurance or agents!"
Profile photo of Michael Vega

Michael Vega

July 19, 2021

5  out of  5
"Car broke down and needed a tow. Called my agent and was he had the tow truck service there within 20 mins. All I had to do was sign and show my insurance card. Fast and great service."
Profile photo of Shluis Carbajal

Shluis Carbajal

June 23, 2021

5  out of  5
"Great amazing service Derek always get the job done have been with him for a couple of years and no complaints ! Also I can always count on his Assistant Karen.W she is always able to literally handle anything I throw at her with such ease and care. Karen is AWESOME ! whoever you speak to you can definitely count on them !"
Profile photo of braden lee

braden lee

May 24, 2021

5  out of  5
"Trustworthy, reliable, punctual"
Profile photo of 2jamba22

2jamba22

February 25, 2021

5  out of  5
"Have been with Derek for as long as I could remember I feel like. Since I bought my first truck to now with my current truck. Nothing but excellent customer service. Very understanding and helpful when needed. Couldn’t ask for a better insurance rep!"
Profile photo of Emily Chan

Emily Chan

February 23, 2021

5  out of  5
"Derek is great to work with! He’s very knowledgeable and does an excellent job at explaining your coverage options and creating a policy that will best fit your needs. He’s honest and informative, and does not try to upsell you or pressure you to make a decision like many other agents will do. He is professional and customer service oriented. Over the years, Derek has always been very responsive and made himself available to answer our questions and help us with any changes. My partner and I feel like we are in great hands with Derek!"
Profile photo of Bryce Barajas

Bryce Barajas

August 14, 2020

5  out of  5
"I would like to thank Derek Alota for his professionalism as well as kind and helpful attitude! He made the whole transaction a breeze and had me insured in moments!"
Profile photo of Vincent Bringas

Vincent Bringas

May 15, 2020

5  out of  5
"I've been with Derek for 5+ years and he's always been honest and straightforward. Derek goes above and beyond for the needs of me and my family. When I last was involved in an auto collision he was the first person I called right after the police. He is professional and most importantly he is personable, theres no one else I would go to."
Profile photo of Tim Hammerquist

Tim Hammerquist

January 25, 2020

1  out of  5
"The staff have always been friendly, but last year my rates started creeping up. I started to be billed for mileage I wasn't driving using numbers that were never explained. After six months of waiting for answers to my questions, constantly being told they'd get to the bottom of it before ignoring me again, I was forced to find new insurance. Now, two weeks after formally cancelling, their site still claims an overdue payment for a policy renewal that never should have happened. This is the worst experience I've had with any insurance provider in 20 years, and they're not even letting me walk away."
Profile photo of MariaM Nguyen

MariaM Nguyen

June 15, 2018

5  out of  5
"I did not know that there was a State Farm Insurance close to my house. I came to the office and had a chance to speak with Derek. He was very friendly, professional, honest, and informative. I then requested Derek be my agent."
Profile photo of Tatiana Platova

Tatiana Platova

December 19, 2017

5  out of  5
"Staff is wonderful, kind and helpful!!!! Thank you!!!"
Profile photo of Antonio Aguirre

Antonio Aguirre

May 23, 2017

5  out of  5
"Great customer service"
Profile photo of Leo Villafuerte

Leo Villafuerte

February 2, 2015

5  out of  5
"Derek, is the go to guy for Insurance needs. Personable and professional.6 stars!"
Profile photo of Josh Ben

Josh Ben

August 13, 2014

5  out of  5
"Almost 3 years later, Derek is still taking great care of my wife and I. Derek is the go to guy... I can't express how happy I am with Derek's professionalism and customer service. Derek is breath of fresh air ever since I left my last insurance company. My wife and I wanted to get car insurance, renters insurance, and some jewelry insured so that we felt protected in the event of something bad happening. Derek actually met me at my office to discuss the things I needed to do to switch insurances seamlessly, and to figure out the best coverage on my policies. Derek gathered all of our information and literally turned around in two days with everything set up for us!! Wow talk about great service in great time. I highly recommend Derek to everyone. You will be highly impressed with not only his great work ethic, but his friendly personality."
Profile photo of Sal Quintero

Sal Quintero

August 13, 2014

5  out of  5
"Having Derek as my insurance advisor for the past 4 years has been a great experience as a consumer. Derek is very professional, courteous and caring. My first impression of Derek was not of a pushy salesman trying to sell me something but a guy giving me knowledge of services one needs in order to plan for the future. I first signed up for car insurance. Derek was very thorough and did his best to get me the best coverage without having me pay more than I was at the time. He ex plained the different types of coverages and broke everything down to a science. Since signing up for car insurance I have signed up for the following: Roth IRA, Home Insurance, College savings plan, and even a loan for my truck. Going thru one person who has gained my trust and has brought me piece of mind in regards to these services. I have recommended Derek to my family, coworker and friends and they all have been satisfied. If you are looking any type of insurance or financial planning Derek is someone you want to talk to before making a decision."
Profile photo of Jimmy Gomez

Jimmy Gomez

July 25, 2014

5  out of  5
"Service is amazing. Always available when I need them. Couldn't ask for a better Insurance provider and representative."
Profile photo of Roberto Gil

Roberto Gil

July 16, 2014

5  out of  5
"Derek Alota is a phenomenal State Farm agent! I currently have homeowners, renters, life, and vehicle insurance. He always strives to provide the best customer service and has a great sense of humor. Derek Alota- State Farm Insurance is the best! If you live in San Jose, CA and are looking for quality insurance and representative, Derek Alota is who you are looking for!"