Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Derek Alota

State Farm® Insurance Agent Derek Alota

Rating: 4.9 stars out of 5 (30 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Pedro Cortez

January 7, 2023

5  out of  5
"Derek is great to work with .. really helpful on helping choose the right coverage for all my vehicles …"

Carl Avery

November 18, 2022

5  out of  5
"Derek is the first and only insurance agent I’ve had since I moved to CA 12 years ago, he is by far the best agent I’ve worked with in my 23 years of driving! When I first met Derek I told him I was excited to live close to Santa cruz so I could surf, he got me some surf board wax as a welcome gift which was really kind, thoughtful and appreciated :) His assistant Karen has been absolutely amazing as well, so informative and willing to help anytime I call and even followed up with me after I was rear ended by a drunk driver even though the vehicle I was driving at the time only had liability insurance and it was the other persons fault yet she still took the time to call and see how I was doing which means a lot and showed me the type of wonderful humans I am working with. It’s easy to remember your agent cause you only have one usually but they have many clients and talk to many people daily yet still remember me even when I don’t call them for years so if you are looking for the best then look no further cause I promise they will exceed all expectations and do an incredible job for you! Thank you both for everything, sad to Leave CA but even more sad that I have to switch my insurance to an agent in Ohio but you know I’ll be back when I move back ;) love and respect, I appreciate you both!"

Jeremy L

October 19, 2022

5  out of  5
"Great service! I appreciate the quick and reliable service that Derek and Karen provides. I love the fact that I can always count on someone local picking up my phone calls instead of me reaching a virtual assistant from a foreign country. Derek’s office has been reliable for me and Karen has been a pleasure to speak to as always. Can’t go wrong with them!!!"

Sebastien Rodriguez

September 22, 2022

5  out of  5
"There's plenty of options when it comes to insurance but it's great people that make the difference. Karen is one of those people. She's responsive, helpful, friendly and on top of whatever you throw her way. Good insurance coverage and rates get you into the service, but great people are why you stay. Thank you Karen and Derek for always being around to help when it's needed."

Thomas Banks

August 26, 2022

5  out of  5
"I have been with Derek for about 6 or 7 years now after having a bad experience with progressive. I'll be honest I've had my disagreements/disputes with State Farm Claims. Derek's office has been a great help in navigating some issues. Someone that I enjoy talking to is Karen. She is great at explaining things when I get confused with Insurance lingo. She has also helped when adding new vehicles, letting me now where I can save money!"

Ingrid Alonso

July 28, 2022

5  out of  5
"This review is long overdue. Derek has been my insurance agent for over a decade. He and his staff are amazing! When I need help and call his office, not only do we catch up on family, kids, jobs, etc., but he and his team go above and beyond for me and my parents (who are also his clients). Karen is also the best! She responds to me super quickly and has been to my rescue so many times (after accidents and car/address/policy changes). Recently, my son's catalytic converter was stolen. I called the office to cancel the policy and they advised that it was covered! I had no idea! My son was allowed a rental and he received a check for the whole value of his car! I am super greatful for Derek and his team and 1000% recommend them for all insurance needs."

Teddi W.

July 22, 2022

5  out of  5
"I'm always pleased with the help I receive when calling Derek's office. Karen is very patient, organized, and knowledgeable- she helped set me up with a great car insurance policy that suits my personal needs. Their office always helps me get the best rate possible and consistently reminds me to send in external forms (e.g. transcripts) for further improved rates."

Roland Kel

May 23, 2022

5  out of  5
"Derek has been great to us for many years now. I feel like we are almost like family now. Too bad we cannot take him with us to Arizona with us but he was able to find us an agent who also seems promising!"

Christian Gutierrez

March 31, 2022

5  out of  5
"Mr. Alota has always served me with the utmost respect and attention that has reassured my trust and dependency in State Farm Insurance. In 2015 I was involved in a horrific freeway accident that left my vehicle totaled. Derek dropped everything to ensure I was safe, and my car was taken to a well respected auto body shop. I highly recommend State Farm Agent Derek Alota to anyone who wants to be taken care of like a good neighbor. He is always there for me, day and night."

Cynthia Martinez

March 15, 2022

5  out of  5
"They always help me with everything I need , they are very nice and professionals !!!"

Andrew Chen

January 6, 2022

5  out of  5
"Derek has been handling my home and auto loans for years and has always been a consummate professional. Whenever I have any questions or issues, he is always available to help guide me through the process. I would highly recommend him as anyone's insurance agent!"
Profile photo of Carmen Fuentes

Carmen Fuentes

October 5, 2021

5  out of  5
"I am extremely happy with Derek’s service. He is very professional and responds quickly. He looks out for my best benefit. I recommend State Farm. To all who need a great insurance. Derek allota State Farm"

Tama Redmond

September 8, 2021

5  out of  5
"Derek is a wonderful insurance agent. Very good value, claims are taken care of quickly. Never had a complaint, prices are also great! I'll never change insurance or agents!"

Michael Vega

July 19, 2021

5  out of  5
"Car broke down and needed a tow. Called my agent and was he had the tow truck service there within 20 mins. All I had to do was sign and show my insurance card. Fast and great service."

Shluis Carbajal

June 23, 2021

5  out of  5
"Great amazing service Derek always get the job done have been with him for a couple of years and no complaints ! Also I can always count on his Assistant Karen.W she is always able to literally handle anything I throw at her with such ease and care. Karen is AWESOME ! whoever you speak to you can definitely count on them !"

braden lee

May 24, 2021

5  out of  5
"Trustworthy, reliable, punctual"

2jamba22

February 25, 2021

5  out of  5
"Have been with Derek for as long as I could remember I feel like. Since I bought my first truck to now with my current truck. Nothing but excellent customer service. Very understanding and helpful when needed. Couldn’t ask for a better insurance rep!"

Emily Chan

February 23, 2021

5  out of  5
"Derek is great to work with! He’s very knowledgeable and does an excellent job at explaining your coverage options and creating a policy that will best fit your needs. He’s honest and informative, and does not try to upsell you or pressure you to make a decision like many other agents will do. He is professional and customer service oriented. Over the years, Derek has always been very responsive and made himself available to answer our questions and help us with any changes. My partner and I feel like we are in great hands with Derek!"

Bryce Barajas

August 14, 2020

5  out of  5
"I would like to thank Derek Alota for his professionalism as well as kind and helpful attitude! He made the whole transaction a breeze and had me insured in moments!"

Vincent Bringas

May 15, 2020

5  out of  5
"I've been with Derek for 5+ years and he's always been honest and straightforward. Derek goes above and beyond for the needs of me and my family. When I last was involved in an auto collision he was the first person I called right after the police. He is professional and most importantly he is personable, theres no one else I would go to."

Tim Hammerquist

January 25, 2020

1  out of  5
"The staff have always been friendly, but last year my rates started creeping up. I started to be billed for mileage I wasn't driving using numbers that were never explained. After six months of waiting for answers to my questions, constantly being told they'd get to the bottom of it before ignoring me again, I was forced to find new insurance. Now, two weeks after formally cancelling, their site still claims an overdue payment for a policy renewal that never should have happened. This is the worst experience I've had with any insurance provider in 20 years, and they're not even letting me walk away."

MariaM Nguyen

June 15, 2018

5  out of  5
"I did not know that there was a State Farm Insurance close to my house. I came to the office and had a chance to speak with Derek. He was very friendly, professional, honest, and informative. I then requested Derek be my agent."

Tatiana Platova

December 19, 2017

5  out of  5
"Staff is wonderful, kind and helpful!!!! Thank you!!!"

Antonio Aguirre

May 23, 2017

5  out of  5
"Great customer service"

Leo Villafuerte

February 2, 2015

5  out of  5
"Derek, is the go to guy for Insurance needs. Personable and professional.6 stars!"